2019 Connecting Chords Music Festival

October 18 – December 1

  Buy a Festival Pass

2019 Connecting Chords Music Festival Events

Rahim AlHaj & Sahba Motallebi

Rahim AlHaj & Sahba Motallebi

Iraqi oud master with Iranian tar virtuosa

Friday, October 18 at 7:30 pm
St. Luke’s Episcopal Church

Taiko Drumming Master Class

Taiko Drumming Master Class

With Ken Koshio and Carolyn Koebel

October 19, 2019
Two sessions: 10:00 AM & 11:30 AM

Kalamazoo College – Light Fine Arts Building

<em>Fujin Raijin</em>: Music of Japan

Fujin Raijin: Music of Japan

Featuring organ, marimba, and Taiko drumming

Sunday, October 20 at 4:00 pm
Prince of Peace Lutheran Church

Free Event

Learn More

Leahaliza Lee

Leahaliza Lee

Sephardic vocalist

Wednesday, October 23 at 7:30 pm
Congregation of Moses

Ken Koshio

Ken Koshio

Taiko drummer and folk singer

Thursday, October 24 at 7:00 pm
Parchment Community Library

Free Event

Learn More

<em>The Passion of Joan of Arc</em>

The Passion of Joan of Arc

Classic silent film with live soundtrack performance

Saturday, October 26 at 2:00 pm
Kalamazoo College – Dalton Theater, Light Fine Arts Building

<em>Pas De Deux: Keys & Chords</em>

Pas De Deux: Keys & Chords

Organist David Lauer with soprano Susan B. Anthony

Sunday, October 27 at 4:00 pm
First Baptist Church

Free Event

Learn More

Community Zikr

Community Zikr

Ceremonial chant led by Murshid Muhammad Ichlas

Tuesday, October 29 at 7:00 pm
Unity of Kalamazoo

Free Event

Learn More

Family Drumming Circle

Family Drumming Circle

Energetic, family-friendly community drumming event

Saturday, November 2 at 2:00 pm
St. Luke’s Episcopal Church

Rohan Krishnamurthy & Raaginder

Rohan Krishnamurthy & Raaginder

Classic Indian percussion and violin with divine chant

Sunday, November 3 at 4:00 pm
Kalamazoo College – Dalton Theater, Light Fine Arts Building

Tibetan Monks from Drepung Loseling Monastery

Tibetan Monks from Drepung Loseling Monastery

Mandala Sand Painting

Wednesday, November 6 – Sunday, November 10
Kalamazoo Valley Museum

Free Event

Learn More

Family Drum & Dance Night

Family Drum & Dance Night

An evening of high-energy drum and dance

Thursday, November 7 at 7:00 pm
Parchment Community Library

Free Event

Learn More

Tibetan Monks from Drepung Loseling Monastery

Tibetan Monks from Drepung Loseling Monastery

Concert of Song & Dance

Friday, November 8 at 7:30 pm
Comstock Auditorium

Samite

Samite

Multi-instrumentalist/music therapist

Saturday, November 9 at 2:00 pm
Kalamazoo Public Library (Downtown)

Free Event

Learn More

Sound Immersion Meditation

Sound Immersion Meditation

Led by sound therapist Judy Huxmann

Saturday, November 16 at 2:00 pm
Kalamazoo Nature Center

Schola Antiqua

Schola Antiqua

Early music vocal ensemble

Sunday, November 17 at 4:00 pm
First Congregational United Church of Christ

Messiah Sing

Messiah Sing

Sing-along of Handel’s Messiah with professional musicians

Sunday, December 1 at 4:00 pm
First Congregational United Church of Christ

Free Event

Learn More